WSOPE Event#4 NLH High Roller Heads-Up took center stage today as Event #3 came to a close


Ivey-WSOP-HUThe WSOPE resumed today and featured an open heads-up event for the first time. The £10,350 buy-in event attracted a field of 103 players. The inaugural London event courted the Royalty of the poker community including the “Ivey” league, a “Great Dane”, a “Professor” and even “Jesus” to name a few.  

Representing Team Canada are Daniel Negreanu, Greg Mueller, Shawn Buchanan, Scott Montgomery, Sorel Mizzi and Matt Jarvis who’s fresh off winning the Canadian Heads Up Championship.

Apart from Jarvis, three other November Niner’s, were at the tables: Michael Mizrachi, John Racener and Joseph Cheong. Only Matt survived Day 1.

With a £1,030,000 (1,654,000 CAD) prize pool, grand prize pays £288,409 with the top 16 getting paid at least £22,847.

Thirty-two men advance onto Day 2 with the following pairs facing off tomorrow :

Jani Sointula vs. Phil IveyNegreanu-WSOPE-HU
Mark Everett vs. Gus Hansen
Chance Kornuth vs. Daniel Negreanu
Howard Lederer vs. Shaun Buchanan
Martin Kabrhel vs. Matt Jarvis
Ilari Sahamies vs. Huck Seed
Jim Collopy vs. Scott Fischman
Sondre Svanevik vs. Daniel Steinberg
Kevin Eyster vs. Ludovic Lacay
Justin Adams vs. Marius Torbergsen
Ram Vaswani vs. Yevgeniy Timoshenko
Amit Makhija vs. McLean Karr
Neil Channing vs. Chris Moorman
Mori Eskandani vs. Andrew Feldman
Saar Wilf vs. Talal Shakerchi
Andrew Robl vs. Touko Takala

The final day of Event #3 unfolded today and at the end it was a heads-up between two British players. Scott Shelley denied JP Kelly his chances of claiming history by becoming the youngest three-time bracelet winner and first WSOP Europe bracelet winner to defend his title.

The Canadian Kaveh Paymen who was the early chip leader lost half his stack to a hand against Jeppe Bisgaard overpaired. After that, the defending champ Kelly started to dominate the table and players were sniped off one by one.

Here are the final standings for Event #3:

1. Scott Shelley (£133,857)
2. JP Kelly (£82,854)
3. Jeppe Bisgaard (£55,063)
4. Paul Pitchford (£40,862)
5. Kaveh Payman (£30,666)
6. Mehdi Senhaji (£23,239)
7. Jack Lyman (£17,768)
8. Karim Jomeen (£13,694)
9. Nicky Katz (£10,633)

(photo credit – Greasie Wheels)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.