Tom McEvoy and Scotty Nguyen to be Inducted Into Poker Hall of Fame


This year’s 10 Hall of Fame finalists were presented to 37 voting individuals, the 19 living inductees and an 18-person media panel who would decide who would be inducted in this Poker Hall of Fame.

The following criteria is used to determine the

▪   A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition

▪   Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination

▪   Played for high stakes

▪   Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers

▪   Stood the test of time

▪   Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Tom McEvoy & Scotty Nguyen


Out of a list that included other big names like Huckleberry Seed, Jennifer Harman, Carlos Mortensen, and Mike Matusow, to name a few, this year’s WSOP Hall of Fame inductees are Tom McEvoy and Scotty Nguyen.

McEvoy won a satellite into the 1983 WSOP Main Event, which he went on to win, the first satellite qualifier to win the tournament. Since winning the Main Event in 1983 he’s earned $2.2 million in live tournament earnings and a total of four bracelets. McEvoy has also written numerous poker books, and is credited with leading the charge to prohibit smoking in poker rooms.

“I would like to thank everyone for making my election to the Poker Hall of Fame possible,” said the 68-year-old McEvoy, who has four WSOP bracelets. “It was a very emotional day for me when I got the news. I consider this the highest honor a poker player can receive next to winning the Main Event of the World Series of Poker. I feel both deeply honored and humbled to be included with all the other poker greats. This is truly the frosting on the cake of my poker career.”

Nguyen has amassed $11.7 million in career winnings including 19 WSOP final tables, eight World Poker Tour final tables, and five WSOP gold bracelets. Nguyen is also the only player to have won both the WSOP Main Event, which he won in 1998, and the $50,000 WSOP Poker Players’ Championship.

“Thank you so much, this is wonderful news,” Nguyen said in regards to his selection. “You work so hard, you put so much time in that you want and hope it will be recognized. This is something my grandkids will talk about. It’s awesome, baby, thank you.”

To date, there are 44-members inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame since it was established in 1979, the most recent being 2012’s Eric Drache and Brian “Sailor” Roberts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.