Ha Van Nguyen Ships Atlantic Canada’s Poker Championship and $40,000



hosted the annual Atlantic Canada’s Poker Champion (ACPC) this past weekend in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. The annual $550 event sold out all three qualifying sessions, creating a prize pool of $150,000. Late Sunday night, New Brunswick resident, Ha Van Nguyen defeated his final opponent to claim the ACPC title and a top prize of CAD $40,000.

Nguyen bested a field of 300 entrants en route to his first-ever live-recorded tournament win. Leading up to the event, Nguyen’s hendonmob.com page had only USD $12,661 in tournament earnings with his best finish coming off a deep run in the 2016 World Poker Tour (WPT) Canadian Spring Championship at Playground Poker Club, busting 13th for CAD $15,300.

Nguyen defeated a tough opponent in Gary Lucci heads up. A native of Nova Scotia, Lucci is no stranger to the spotlight of a final table. Lucci has amassed more than CAD $300,000 in career tournament earnings. He will add another $22,500 with his runner-up finish at this years ACPC.

The 2016 champ, Nguyen joins past winners of the prestigious Atlantic Canada Poker Championship including Jeffrey Cormier, who recently final tabled the World Poker Tour National Montreal event, Ryan Theriault, and Paul MacEachern.

Final Results:

Rank Name Province Prize
1 Ha Van Nguyen NB $40,000
2 Gary Lucci NS $22,500
3 Brent Cowan NS $13,500
4 Stuart Hooft ON $10,000
5 Joanne Babineau NB $7,500
6 Kendrick Banks PEI $6,200
7 Trevor Gallant PEI $5,100
8 Walter Mullen PEI $4,500
9 Jacques Daigle NB $3,700
10 Austin Gallant PEI $3,200
11 Kevin Doyle PEI $3,000
12 Arthur Jay PEI $3,000
13 Danny Li PEI $2,500
14 James Gallant NS $2,500
15 Harold Fraser NS $2,100
16 Robert Acorn PEI $2,100
17 Boyd Rose PEI $1,750
18 Doug Orr NS $1,750
19 Vaugh Reynders NS $1,750
20 Robert Lahey NB $1,450
21 Boyd O’Neill NB $1,450
22 Rob Gardiner PEI $1,450
23 Emmett Joseph PEI $1,450
24 Tex Hall NS $1,200
25 Will Matheson PEI $1,200
26 CJ Hennigar NS $1,200
27 Ferne Hawley NS $1,050
28 Paul Quenneville NS $1,050
29 Glenn King PEI $1,050
30 Richard Breau NB $1,050


Congratulations to Ha Van Nguyen and all the players who made the money at the 2016 ACPC. Stay tuned to Canada Poker for up-to-date Canadian poker news and events. Be sure to follow us on Twitter and Facebook.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.