Gallen Hall Chipleader at Final Table of the WPT Championship


Galen Hall WPT ChampionshipGalen Hall is on course to securing a second major title of the year after maintaining his chip lead throughout Day 5 of the $25,000 buy-in WPT World Championship at the Bellagio in Las Vegas.

Gallen Hall, winner of this year’s PCA Main Event which paid him $2.3 Million, was in Madrid last week where he managed to get up to second place and win $82,485. Hall was not planning to play in the WPT Championship event but since he was playing well in Madrid, he decided to go for it.

Hall managed to hold a chip lead as the field narrowed down to six for the televised final table where he will enter with 5,095,000 chips. Scott Seiver is trailing close with just 20,000 fewer chips at 5,075,000 chips in total.

The chip stacks of the last six title contenders are as follows:

Seat 1: Galen Hall – 5,095,000 (84 BBs)
Seat 2: Justin Young – 1,750,000 (29 BBs)
Seat 3: Tony Gargano – 3,550,000 (59 BBs)
Seat 4: Roger Teska – 3,600,000 (60 BBs)
Seat 5: Scott Seiver – 5,075,000 (84 BBs)
Seat 6: Freddy Bonyadi – 2,470,000 (41 BBs)

A couple of Canadians finishing in the money include Nenad Menic from Niagara Falls who finished in 10th paying him $63,714 and Haralabos Voulgaris from Winnipeg finished in 21st place to collect $37,167.

After a day break, the final televised table will be played on Friday where the winner will earn the largest WPT payoff of the year.

Final payout table is:

1st – $1,618,344
2nd – $1,061,900
3rd – $589,355
4th – $371,665
5th – $278,749
6th – $225,654 

$100,000 Super High Roller Event

The $100,000 Super Highroller event made its debut in the World Poker Tour with 29 players making the hefty buy-in. The inaugural tournament attracted some big names including Daniel Negreanu, Erik Seidel, Phil Laak, Tony G, Tom “kingofcards” Marchese,  Daniel “jungleman12” Cates, Phil “OMGClayAiken” Galfond, Sam Trickett Erik

The event is down to final two players and it will be the battle of the Erik’s. Erick Lindgren with 4,480,000 chips will be going heads up against Erik Seidel who is in the chip leader with 7,120,000 chips. Seidel has already had two big first place finishes this year and several notable cashes.

Daniel Negreanu finished in 3th place to take $448,320 followed by Vivek Rajkumar  in 4th with $336,240 and Justin Bonomo in 5th taking $224,160.

Play resumes today at 12:30 PM and the final payout for the top 2 is:

1st – $1,092,780
2nd – $700,500


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.