Day 1 of NBC National Heads Up Championship Completed as 32 Advance


The 2013 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship started yesterday from Caesars Palace in Las Vegas and is in its eighth season. A total of 64 top poker pros each shelled out a $20,000 buy into this no limit hold’em invitational event. The players were divided into four groups of 16 – Spades, Hearts, Clubs and Diamonds and Round 1 is done leaving 32 players to advance.

There is no clear favourite yet as today’s second round matches will decide the top 16 finishers who will at least be assured to finish in the money leading into the next two rounds of play. The Championship Final will be played on Saturday with the winner expected to earn $750,000.

Here are the matches for today by group:


John Monnette vs. Barry Greenstein
Viktor Blom vs. Mike Matusow
Sam Simon vs. John Hennigan
Justin Bonomo vs. Phil Ivey


Joseph Cheong vs. Bruce Miller
Eugene Katchalov vs. Phil Galfond
Justin Smith vs. Phil Hellmuth
Chris Moneymaker vs. David ‘Doc’ Sands


Antonio Esfandiari vs. Jonathan Duhamel
Chris Moorman vs. Dan Cates
Vanessa Rousso vs. Shaun Deeb
Scott Seiver vs. Kyle Julius


Doyle Brunson vs. Tom Dwan
Brian Hastings vs. Eli Elezra
Huck Seed vs. Joe Serock
Dan Smith vs. Gaelle Baumann




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.