Daniel Negreanu Wins WSOPE High Roller and Player of the Year


daniel-negreanu-win--wsopeDaniel Negreanu captured bracelet number six and the WSOP Player of the Year title in France. This is Daniel’s second WSOP victory in 2013 after starting the 2013 poker season with a memorable fifth bracelet victory in Melbourne, Australia during the WSOP APAC.

Daniel also became the first-ever two-time WSOP Player of the Year (POY) by taking down the bracelet and a €725,000 payday. He only needed to finish in the top eight to surpass Matthew Ashton, who took the lead in the contest this summer in Vegas by making five final tables and winning the $50,000 Poker Players Championship title. Negreanu celebrated when he made the final table, but his work didn’t end there.

Negreanu played his way to heads-up action in a bracelet event for the third time on three continents this year. And, for the second time this year, he came out a winner, defeating Nicolau Villa-Lobo of Brazil for the win.

Negreanu defeated one of the most stacked final tables of the year that included bracelet winners Canadian Timothy Adams and Scott Seiver, WSOP APAC High Roller Champ Philipp Gruissem, top young pros David Peters and Jason Koon, and Hall of Famer Erik Seidel.  When the final table began, Negreanu was actually dead last in the chip counts, just barely making it into the money, but he managed to pull off a victory for the record books.

This tournament was a €25,000 buy-in High Roller event that drew 80 entries, including top pros from all over the world. This is the second time for a High Roller tournament at the WSOPE Europe series, but the first time the event counted for a bracelet. Last year, there was a €50,000 non-bracelet event that Mike Watson won which drew 60 entries.

2013 WSOP Europe High Roller Event Final Table Results

1st: Daniel Negreanu – Canada – €725,000

2nd: Nicolau Villa-Lobo – Brazil – €450,000

3rd: Philipp Gruissem – Germany – €250,000

4th: David Peters – USA – €150,500

5th: Timothy Adams – Canada  – €100,600

6th: Scott Seiver – USA – €74,600

7th: Jason Koon – USA – €63,500

8th: Erik Seidel – USA – €55,400

9th: Joni Jouhkimainen – Finland – €50,400


Historical WSOP Player of the Year Results (Bracelets, final tables)

2004: Daniel Negreanu (1, 5) $346,280

2005: Allen Cunningham (1, 4) $1,007,115

2006: Jeff Madsen (2, 4) $1,467,852

2007: Tom Schneider (2, 3) $416,829

2008: Erick Lindgren (1, 3) $1,348,528

2009: Jeff Lisandro (3, 4) $807,521

2010: Frank Kassela (2, 3) $1,255,314

2011: Ben Lamb (1, 4) $5,352,970

2012: Greg Merson (2, 2) $9,785,354

2013: Daniel Negreanu (2, 4) $2,236,354


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.