Dan Harrington and Erik Seidel are in the Poker Hall of Fame


The Poker Hall of Fame announced its 2010 inductees and while 10 great poker players were nominated, only two made it through and were inducted. Those two players are Dan Harrington and Erik Seidel.

Harrington is the 1995 WSOP Main Event Champion and has a World Poker Tour title to his credit. He is known for his great tournament play (more than $6 million in earnings during his career) and more recently, his informative literature that has enlightened the thought process of many poker players out there. He is the proud owner of a record that is in the same unbreakable category of the likes of Cal Ripken’s consecutive game streak (2632 – baseball), and Joe DiMaggio’s consecutive hit streak (56 – baseball). Harrington has reached the final table of the WSOP Main Event four times, including going back-to-back in 2003 and 2004, and almost accomplished the same feat in 1995 and 1996. With the size of the fields these days, that record is extremely tough to break, considering he could still add to it as well.

Erik Seidel has eight WSOP gold bracelets and his poker skill has spanned decades having won his most recent bracelet only three years ago in 2007, 15 years after winning his first bracelet in 1992. He is immortalized in the 1998 poker movie “Rounders” because of his 2nd place finish in the 1988 Main Event to Johnny Chan. Seidel is great in all variations of the game as he has claimed WSOP titles in five different areas of poker like Hold’em, Omaha, and Deuce to Seven Draw.

Both of these players are great ambassadors of the great game of poker and their official induction to the Poker Hall of Fame will take place on Monday, November 8th at the Penn & Teller Theater in the Rio All-Suites ® Hotel& Casino in Las Vegas.

Congratulations, Dan and Erik, you are truly greats of the game!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.