Canada Wins Back-to-back Americas Cup of Poker Titles


2011_Americas_Cup_Of_PokerIn the PokerStars organized event, the Canadian poker team, led by returning team captain Greg DeBora of Toronto, shut out Team Mexico in the finals earning their second Americas Cup of Poker title and $25,000 in prize money.

Members of 10 countries across the Americas competed initially online with the top 4 point earners from the top 6 countries competing in the live finals held in Punta del Este, Uruguay alongside the Latin American Poker Tour on August 8-9 for a shot at a $100,000 prize pool. The remaining four teams played online for the final two positions.

Members of the 2011 ACP Team Canada included Greg DeBora, Henry “EasyChips4u” Wong, Robert “SintBest” Van Thuyl and Jason “collins “AA” Collins”.

Six teams from North, South and Central America battled for two days at the Mantra Resort, Spa and Casino.

Canada, Mexico, Venezuela and Brazil all advanced to the semi-finals, where Canada faced off against Brazil and Mexico played Venezuela. Team Canada blanked their Brazilian counterparts 5-0 and Mexico beat out Venezuela 4-1.

In the finals, Team Canada swept again, destroying Mexico 5-0 and Venezuela beat Brazil 4-1 in the third-place match.


2011 Americas Cup of Poker Results

1st: Canada ($25,000)
2nd: Mexico ($20,000)
3rd: Venezuela ($15,000)
4th: Brazil ($12,000)
5th: Argentina ($10,000)
6th: Rest of Latin America ($8,000)
7th: Colombia ($5,000)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.