Anthony Zinno Wins 2015 WPT Fallsview Poker Classic

Anthony Zinno Winner WPT Fallsview Poker Classic - Photo courtesy of WPT
Anthony Zinno Winner WPT Fallsview Poker Classic
– Photo courtesy of WPT

The World Poker Tour came back to Canada in the form of the much awaited 2015 WPT Fallsview Poker Classic. With the spectacular Niagara Falls as the backdrop, 419 players shelled out $5,000 for a chance at taking home part of the $1,504,111 prize pool and a shot at getting their names engraved on the WPT Champions trophy. Many others qualified online on

Some of the biggest poker names and a host of former WPT Champions came out for this event, considered to be one of the most prestigious tournaments held annually in Canada. To mention a few, Jonathan Duhamel, Ryan Riess, Mike Watson, Mike McDonald, Olivier Busquet, Scott Montgomery, Mike Leah, and Gavin Smith.

After four intense days, a two-time WPT Champ is crowned.  Anthony Zinno won the WPT title for the second time on Monday, along with the $314,629 first place prize and a seat to the WPT World Championship. He won his first WPT title at the Borgata in 2013.

Zinno had the chiplead coming into the Fallsview Poker Classic final table, but with 75 hands in heads up versus Mark Bailey compared to the 70 hands leading up to that point, it was still a battle as Bailey managed to draw nearly even as they approached the final hand.

On the final hand, Zinno limped the button for 250,000, Bailey raised to 750,000 and Zinno called. The flop came down 8 4 2, Bailey open-shoved for 5,175,000 and Zinno called with K K. Zinno had the overpair, but Bailey had some outs with the possibility of a nut flush draw or higher pair with his A J in hand.

The 4 turn paired the board, leaving Bailey in need of an ace or a club on the river. The river was 7  and with that card he claimed his second WPT title.

2015 WPT Fallsview Poker Classic – Final Results

  1. Anthony Zinno – $314,629
  2. Mark Bailey – $209,759
  3. Corey Hochman – $134,877
  4. David Cloutier – $99,743
  5. Jeremy Halaska – $74,882
  6. Erik Cajelais – $59,995

Congratulations to the winners!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.