2011 October Manitoba Poker Open Results and Recap


The latest edition of what now appears to now be a semi-annual Manitoba Poker Open tournament series wrapped up Canadian poker for October; generating a combined series prize-pools of $395,475 over 3 events.

$550+$50 No Limit Texas Hold’em Tournament
Winnipeg Sun Freeze-out Event #1

David Thompson took down the first event of the Manitoba Poker Open and near as we can see, he is started playing poker in the USA before finding our Canadian events quite profitable. Thompson has also cashed at in several Calgary events, including a 3rd place score worth $23,000 at the 2009 COPC. This  latest win in Manitoba looks to be the largest of his official cashes to date; in fact it now appears to be responsible for nearly doubling his career winnings total. Congratulations to him all the other players making bank; here are the full results and photos from the first event.

First Last Prize
1st David Thompson $30,890
2nd Terrance King $19,574
3rd Patrick Chang $13,083
4th Paul Weenes $9,188
5th James Child $6,754
6th Jackson Oniske $5,175
7th Norman Overdijk $4,115
8th Ernest Ritchie $3,384
9th Marco Carreira $2,864
10th Fred Pynn $2,485
11th John Ward $2,204
12th Harry Kuksuk $1,992
13th Kraig Harper $1,828
14th John Kuksuk $1,699
15th David Sousa $1,598
16th Oliver Gergely $1,516
17th Christian Wallmuth $1,450
18th Michael Bakeman $1,396
19th Donato Santarsieri $1,351
20th Michael Etkin $1,351
21st Garth Arneson $1,351
22nd Steven Green $1,351

Total Entrties: 212 Entrants

$275+$25 ($225+$50 Bounty), No Limit Texas Hold’em
Event #2: 92 City FM Bounty Tournament

Robert Whyte was the winner of the 92 City FM Bounty tournament, proving that determination to win gets the job done. Whyte finished 15th in the first event of the inaugural Manitoba Lotteries Poker Open at McPhillips Station Casino this past spring; clearly showing here that it was only a matter office before he bagged the top prize he was gunning for. Here is a list of all the players who hit the cash cage, along with some photos of the field itself

First Last Prize
1st Robert Whyte $26,854
2nd James Hopps $16,700
3rd Robert McGill $11,224
4th Pierre Young $7,729
5th Joe Williams $5,545
6th Andrew Capelo $4,128
7th Ryan Smal $3,178
8th Richard Gott $2,521
9th Terry Menard $2,054
10th David Roux $1,715
11th Peter Pawlak $1,463
12th Robert Peters $1,272
13th Steven Oniske $1,125
14th Les Sawatsky $1,010
15th Robert Gardner $918
16th John Scott $845
17th Jamie Scott $786
18th Mikhail Palitsky $737
19th James Childs $697
20th Nicklas Martin $697
21st Ken Hunter $697
22nd George Muswaggon $697
23rd Paul Spiropoulos $697
24th Robert Harrison $697
25th Melvin Hiebert $697
26th Jaret Melnyk $697
27th Frank Steding $697
28th Jason Wilson $523
29th John Magnayon $523
30th Graham Lupton $523
31st Jordan Courshone $524
32nd Thi Quach Nguyen $525
33rd Desmond Strichuk $526
34th Quentin Kreuger $527
35th Gary Hobson $528
36th Josh Weisz $529
37th Perry Burgess $523
38th Mark Deguzan $349
39th Frank Capello $349
40th Ralph Potter $349
41st Matthew Alie $349
42nd Jimmy Olais $349
43rd Edward Domingo $349
44th Terri Hill $349
45th Mel Pedaima $349
46th Hong Le $349
47th Michael Mutch $349

Total Entrants: 465

$1000+$100 No Limit Texas Hold’em “CHAMPIONSHIP”
Event #3: October 29-30, 2011

The winner of the Championship Event was local poker legend, Zennawi “zenni11” Petros. While this is his latest title win, it certainly isn’t his first; the last time we ran into Zenni, we were video interviewing him for having won the 2010 COPC $2,000 Main Event. Petros also shipped a Venetian Deep Stack Event this year; for yet another healthy five-figure score.

Congratulations to Zenni on winning the Main Event, and the others who finished in the money.
Here are the complete results and photos for both the first and final day of the 2011 October Manitoba Poker Open 1k:

First Last City Province Prize
1st Zenni Petros Winnipeg MB $40,672
2nd Joe Williams Winnipeg MB $26,017
3rd Kyle Doberstein Oakbank MB $17,611
4th Thi Quach Nguyen Thunder Bay ON $12,567
5th Kathy Row Winnipeg MB $9,414
6th Johnathan Albert Norway House MB $7,369
7th Michael Dong Winnipeg MB $5,997
8th Farrel Rempel Steinbach MB $5,050
9th Frank Steding Winnipeg MB $4,376
10th Andrew Robson Winnipeg MB $3,887
11th Paulette Faucher Winnipeg MB $3,522
12th Robert Ozerkewich Gladstone MB $3,247
13th Milton Tenenbien Winnipeg MB $3,035
14th Roger Isla Winnipeg MB $2,868
15th Jeffrey Coldwell St. Andrews MB $2,737
16th Peter Courchene Fort Alexander MB $2,631

Total Entries: 151

Previous article2011 BC Poker Championships Main Event Results
Next articleGermany’s Pius Heinz Defeats Surprising Martin Staszko, Disappointing Ben Lamb To Win 2011 WSOP Championship Event
Jon Harnish
35 year old recreational player, husband and father of three from Calgary, Alberta. Enjoy lower stakes cash games including PLO and limit Omaha 8. Any of the micro-stakes HORSE games will play online MTTS and SNGs. Live, Tournaments and Satellites up to $550. I love the game but am far to social to take it seriously and sometimes give up a little to much information at the table because I enjoy discussing the game, so decided it was safest for my bankroll to take up writing about the game. That way I still get to meet the cool people and opinions on the game, but with a little less risk. Writing wise, currently a regular contributor to Poker Pro Canada, like to write profiles, previews and recaps the most. formally wrote for Canadian Poker Player Canada. My Poker Blogs have been featured on CardPlayer Social and SpadeClub as "Recommended" or in newsletters on several occasions and Pokerweblogs as "Blog of the Month". Past projects included organizing and promoting major events with the Canadian Poker Tour, introducing Big Slick Poker Tour to Southern Alberta and directing events and finals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.